© 2015 by  Θ. Proudly created with Wix.com

Last Updated: 05/29/2018

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

DISCLAIMER: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is not responsible for the design and content of these web pages. They are the sole property and responsibility of Theta Chapter who hosts and maintains this website. This website and its content are provided "as is" and Theta Chapter excludes to the fullest extent permitted by applicable law any warranty, express or implied, Including, without limitation, any implied warranties of merchantability, satisfactory quality or fitness for a particular purpose. The functions embodied on, or in the materials of, this website are not warranted to be uninterrupted or without error. You, not Theta Chapter, assume the entire cost of all necessary servicing, repair or correction due to your use of this website

PRIVACY POLICY: Theta Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is committed and recognizes your need for protection and privacy issues on the internet.


The lovely ladies of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, Theta Chapter welcome you to our website! This site, like the rich 96 year history of Theta Chapter, demonstrates our sincere dedication to scholarship, service, and the community. These attributes are seen through our innovative programming, continuous community service, and leadership at The Ohio State University and beyond.  Most importantly, we carry ourselves with the poise and grace of our illustrious founders, so that we can serve as role models to others. Through the years, Theta Chapter continues to be of service to all mankind. We hope you enjoy browsing through our website while learning more about Theta Chapter. Please be sure to leave a comment or sign-in our guestbook, and check back for updates on events. We would love to see you at our upcoming programs and service initiatives! Thank you for visiting our website.


Simone Bacon

Chapter History


Theta Chapter was chartered on February 2, 1921 at The Ohio State University, by five women. Their names were: Grace Boyd, Bertha Harrington, Mildred Henson, Thelma Moorman and Eva Jane Smith. In 1926, Theta Chapter hosted the Boule and since then Theta has co-hosted six regional conferences. Theta Chapter has had many acclaimed members including Faye Walleton, Olympia Coles and Elaena Harris. 




Theta Chapter is dedicated to our sorority's purpose and we shall continue to be pioneers and innovative history makers through our future programs and service.

Quick Facts


Motto: "By Culture and By Merit"


Colors: Salmon Pink and Apple Green


Symbol: Ivy Leaf


Flower: Pink Tea Rose

The 2014-2018 International Program will focus on Launching New Dimensions of Service℠ under these five target areas:

Educational Enrichment

Health Promotion

Family Strengthening

Environmental Ownership

Global Impact

Theta Established Programs 

Black Girl Magic Awards

T.O.G.A. Week

The NPHC Step Show

Ladies Night In

Think Pink Week

20 Pearls

Ethel Hedgeman Lyle

Lillie Burke

Beulah Burke

Margaret Flagg Holmes

Marie Woolfolk Taylor

Lavinia Norman

Anna Easter Brown

Lucy Diggs Slowe

Marjorie Hill

Alice P Murray

Carrie Snowden

Ethel Jones Mowbray

Joanna Berry Shields

Sarah Meriweather Nutter

Harriet J. Terry

Norma Boyd

Minnie B. Smith

Nellie M. Quander

Julia E. Brooks

Nellie Pratt Russel

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now